Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

BHS names 62nd annual art show winners

June 12, 2014
The Town Crier

The 62nd annual Boardman High School Art Show was held recently in the high school gymnasium. Work was displayed by students in all art classes--art I, II, III, IV and V and advanced placement; photography I, II and III; and graphics I, II and III.

The work was judged in each category by experts in that field. Joyce Mistovich, retired art educator from Boardman Schools, judged paintings, drawings and sculptures. R.J. Thompson, assistant professor of graphic and interactive design at YSU, judged the graphic design work. Erika Olson, graduating with a bachelor of fine arts in photography from YSU, judged the photography students' artwork. The show was coordinated by BHS art teachers Edie Davidson, Jim Cliff and Alyssa Birch.

Other first place winners include Catie Groubert, photography III; Ireland Blume, photography II; Kellie Dunham, photography I; Breanna deBlois, graphics I; Alex Thomas, graphics II; Nikki Baker, graphics III; Gina Tropea, art I; Holly Yarab, art II; MeiYu Dong, art III; Megan Banks, art IV; Samantha Courtney, art V; Jessica McElroy, advanced placement studio art; tie with Jessica McElroy and Sarah Demetruk, cumulative over four years; Sarah Demetruk, Connie Deutsch Memorial Purchase Award.

Article Photos

Photo Special to the Town Crier
Boardman High School art winners were announced in May and include Catie Groubert, first place overall in photography III; Niki Baker, first place overall in graphics III; Jessica McElroy, first place overall in advanced placement art; and Sarah Demetruk, who received the Connie Deutsch Memorial Purchase Award. McElroy and Demetruk tied for first place accumulated points during their high school careers.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web