Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Boy Scouts host annual recognition dinner

May 8, 2014
The Town Crier

The Whispering Pines District of the Greater Western Reserve Council, Boy Scouts of America hosted its 2014 District Recognition and Awards Dinner at St. James Episcopal Church in Boardman.

This year's dinner honored 33 Scouts who in 2013, earned the highest rank in scouting, the Eagle Scout Award. Several adult volunteers completed training awards as well as the 2013 Scouting Family of the Year, Cubmaster of the Year, Scoutmaster of the Year and the highest award a district can present to an adult Scouter, the District Award of Merit.

Scouts of the Whispering Pines District which serves Mahoning County and Hubbard, who earned the Eagle Scout Award in 2013 include James A. Bakos, Austintown Troop 184; Jeffrey Bean, Brandon Ciavarella, William Duganne, Samuel M. Morrow, Matthew Osiniak, Joseph S. Pinkerton-Lamp and Matthew Stark,Boardman Troop 46; Benjamin C. Boughner, Donald A. Duda, III and Michael Rammuno, Canfield Troop 25; Jordan D. Brown, Nicholas Crescimanno, Benjamin A. Crouch, Milan A. Milroy and James V. Mularkey, Canfield Troop 115; Brett J. Centofanti, Sage C. Edwards, Donald Hald, Jr., Justin M. Smith and Zachary A. Timmins, Ellsworth Troop 71; Calvin Krlich and Justin A. Oaks, Hubbard Troop 100; Joseph Angelo, Zachary A. Cain, Walter G. Hilderbrand, Dillon Lewis, Brian Swansiger and Brian Swantek, New Springfield Troop 119; Joseph Humenick, North Lima Troop 80; Sidney Aaron, Benjamin Haylett, Nicholas K. Huggins and Clayton Walker, Poland Troop 2; Charles E. May, George J. Moncilovich and Randall Pfahl, Poland Troop 44; Michael Malenic, Youngstown Troop 22; and Adam Philips, Youngstown Troop 55.

Article Photos

Photos special to the Town Crier
The 2013 Whispering Pines District Award of Merit recipients pictured front row left are: Tony Ricchiutti and Randy Osiniak, both of Boardman. Second row from left is Whispering Pines district Executive Preston Cockrell. Back row from left is Matthew Osiniak.

Several adults having earned training awards in 2013. Matt Grantonic of Troop 49 earned the Scouters Training Award, Dan Bucci of Pack 114 earned the Unit Leader Award of Merit, Andrew Yoder and Chuck James of Pack 100 earned the Tiger Cub Den Leader Award. The following leaders from Pack 100 earned the Cub Scout Den Leader Award: Robert Stoneburner Jr., Stacy Stafford, Jim Stafford, Mona Jones, Heather Criazzo, and Courtney Tupa, and Alex Kegley of Pack 100 earned the Cubmaster Award.

The 2013 Scouting Family of the Year Award was presented to the Harnishfeger Family of Boardman. Byron Harnishfeger has been involved in Scouting as a leader for many years and began his Scouting career as a Boy Scout. He currently serves as Scoutmaster of Troop 60 and also serves on the District Committee as Advancement Chairman. Beth Harnishfeger also has been a leader in Scouting for many years and currently she is serving as District Membership Committee Chairman. Their son, Karl Harnishfeger is an Eagle Scout with Troop 60.

The 2013 Cubmaster of the Year is Chuck Shasho of Youngstown Cub Scout Pack 22 at St. Christine's Parish and the 2013 Scoutmaster of the Year is Dennis Mansfield of Boy Scout Troop 49 in New Middletown.

The District Award of Merit, the highest honor a district can present to a Scouter, was presented to two individuals. The Whispering pines District was pleased to award the District Award of Merit to Randy Osiniak and Tony Ricchiutti.

Randy has been an active member of Troop 46 in Boardman as an Assistant Scoutmaster for eight years and he is presently serving as the Committee Chairman and is a member of the Whispering Pines Advancement Committee and the liaison between the District Advancement Committee and the Council Advancement Committee. He is and active member of his church and active with many community activities.

Tony was involved in Boy Scouting as a youth and earned the Eagle Award. He is currently registered with Troop 60 of Boardman as a Committee Member.

Tony has been on the Whispering Pines District Committee for several years working on the Membership Committee and has helped out with District events. Tony is an active member of St. Charles Church and serves as a substitute bus driver.

This year's dinner was chaired by District Chairman Kurt Hilderbrand and assisted by the District Executive Preston Cockrell and the District Commissioner Richard Gent.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web