Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

''Mathletes,'' athletes commended

April 3, 2014
By Joanna Larson , The Town Crier

Students and parents filled the March 24 meeting of the Poland Board of Education, to see students commended their honors in the Math Counts competition at Youngstown State University. Included in the competition were 17 Mathletes from Poland Middle School.

Finishing in first place out of 22 competing teams was a PMS Mathlete Team consisting students: Tyler Berry, Sam Delatore, Ashlin Rabindra and Kevin Rabindra.

On an individual level, Delatore placed 35th out of 193 students in the state. Other students recognized for their participation in the MathCounts program were: Philip Hockensmith, Mum Masaki, Rachel Mowad, Marik Rogenski, Bailey Swogger, Christina Tremonti, Jake Bacon, Diego Calderon, Ryan O'Kane, Chase Wern, Tony Gallo, Grace Economus, Tom Landry, Will Davies, Carmen LeFoer, Molly Malmer, Emma White, Jared Tucker, Christian Marantis, Noah Landry and Zachary Moore.

Article Photos

Photo by Joanna Larson, Town Crier
'Mathletes' from Poland Middle School were recognized March 24 at the regular meeting of the Poland Board of Education. Students from left are: Grace Economus, Philip Hockensmith, Jared Tucker, Ryan O'Kane and Jake Bacon.

Student math competitors who attended the meeting were asked to stand while board officials read their names aloud.

Poland Seminary High School students receiving recognition included Theodora Constantine, All American Conference and Northeast Inland All-District award winner; Jacob Wolf and George Chammas, first Team All American Conference award winners; and Dan Black and Kyle Dixon, second Team All American Conference award winners. The entire team was commended for the the AAC American Champion award, for achieving Sectional Champions for the eighth year, for being district champions and for placing as Regional Runner Up.

For wrestling, Dante Ginnetti, Bruno Spotleson, Mike Audi, first Team, and Darren Goodin and Anthony Audi, second Team, were recognized for All Eowl Awards. Mike Audi was the first District Champion in school history and Audi placed seventh at the OHSAA State Wrestling Tournament.

In other business the board:

* Adopted the revised 2013-2014 school calendar to include make-up days of May 12 and June 11 and 12. Dates for McKinley only are May 12, and June 12 and 13.

* Adopted the calendar for the 2014-2015 school year with the first day of school commencing Sept. 2, graduation June 7, 2015 and last day of classes June 10, 2015.

* Moved to accept revenue generated from an advertising campaign to purchase a new scoreboard for the football stadium. The purchase will not be made from district funds and funds would be coming from private sources and donations.

* Heard from superintendent David Janofa who said the district was recently approved for a $10,000 grant for Marc's Radios. The radios are designed to help coordinate communication between first responders in the event of an invasion situation in the schools. Janofa also said the district was recently approved for a $30,000 grant for school safety and that the board would be permitted to apply past invoices to the grant for recent safety implementations already commenced.

* Approved an educational field trip to Washington D.C. for PMS students, from April 2 to 4. Costs will be paid by students.

* Approved Michael Russick and Emily Garwood as Title I instructional assistants on an as-needed hourly basis.

* Accepted the resignation of Bill Hegarty as seventh grade volleyball coach and Sarah Gerberry as Academic Challenge Adviser, effective the end of the school year.

* Approved Kristi Schenker as JV Volleyball coach for the 2014 season.

* Approved Donald Christian as junior varsity baseball volunteer assistant coach, and Tracey O'Kane as middle school volunteer track coach.

* Congratulated Cheryl Borovitcky, former administrator at Poland Schools, for her recognition by Youngstown State University for the Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web