Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Troop 25 recognizes scouting anniversary week with winter Court of Honor

February 27, 2014
The Town Crier

Boy Scout Troop 25 chartered to Canfield United Methodist Church recognized Scouting Anniversary Week with the annual Scout Sunday Breakfast and Anniversary Dinner and Winter Court of Honor. The Scout Sunday Breakfast and Scout Sunday service took place Feb. 9th and the dinner and Court of Honor was Feb. 12 in Fellowship Hall at the church.

On Scout Sunday, Troop 25 serves a breakfast to the community all morning between church services and scouts from the troop participate in both services at the church with the Pastor Rev. Susan Brown who gave the message K is for Keys!

The annual Anniversary Dinner and Winter Court of Honor recognized the 104th anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America and the 88th anniversary of the troop and honors the Scouts who have earned rank advancements, merit badges and other awards in scouting.

Article Photos

Photos Special to the Town Crier
Boy Scout Troop 25 Eagle Scout Donny Duda presents the Scout Oath and Law
with the Pastor Rev. Susan Brown (sitting) during the 10:30 am Scout Sunday
Service at Canfield United Methodist Church.

Everyone was welcomed by the Scoutmaster, Kevin Prus, Sr. and the Court of Honor was opened by the troop's color guard, Troop Committee Chairman John Kightlinger served as Master of Ceremonies.

Scouts recognized and their recognitions were : Hunter Amendolea-First Aid Merit Badge; Luke Bowser-Fingerprinting Merit Badge; Prabh Dhaliwal-Scout Award; Zach Gierlach-Cooking, Geocaching and Wilderness Survival Merit Badges; Trevor Hykes-First Aid Merit Badge; Jacob Kusjaz-Tenderfoot Award; Patrick Nielson-Fingerprinting and First Aid Merit Badges; Michael Ramunno Citizenship in the Community; Nick Sansoterra-Scout Award; and Isaac Wood Star Award, Camping, Citizenship in the Community and Fingerprinting Merit Badges

The Troop Order of the Arrow Representative, Matt Mosier presented a report about the Wapashuwi Lodge Order of the Arrow and local chapter Neatoka Chapter. He welcomed Troop 25's newest Order of the Arrow members Hunter Hykes and Tanner Tsvetkoff to the Order of the Arrow.

Scoutmaster Kevin Prus was presented the Scoutmasters Award of Merit by Advancement Chairman Ray Makara for his many years of excellent service as Scoutmaster of the Troop.

Two special troop awards are named after Jimmy Jones and Herman West. Jones was instrumental in the development of Troop 25 from its beginning in 1926 and kept it going for many years especially during WWII. West was an Eagle Scout of Troop 25 and later served as its Scoutmaster for many years. Both were prominent citizens of Canfield and both had served as the Postmaster of Canfield.

The 2013 co-recipients of the Herman West Most Active Scout Award are Donny Duda, and Tanner Tsvetkoff. Donny received this award for the fifth consecutive year giving him the troop record for earning this award the most times. The recipient of the 2013 Jimmy Jones Outstanding Scout Award is Hunter Hykes. The Court of Honor ended with a few words from the Scoutmaster Prus and immediately following was the Eagle Scout Court of Honor of Michael Angelo Ramunno.

Troop 25's upcoming calendar includes their annual Advancement Camp in March, participation in the Mill Creek MetroPark Earth Day Cleanup and a camping weekend for BTM Clays in April, a Camp-O-Ree weekend/hike and the Canfield Memorial Day Parade in May, Wright Patterson Air Force Base and Museum in June, the Canfield Fourth of July Parade and Summer Camp in July at Seven Ranges Scout Reservation in Kensington with trips in August and September to be determined.

Troop 25 meets at 7 p.m. each Wednesday in the basement of Canfield United Methodist Church, 27 S. Broad St. For more information about the troop and its activities, contact Scoutmaster, Kevin Prus, Sr. at 330-533-5616.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web