Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Canfield Board of Education honored by state

January 3, 2014
Eartha A. Terrell , The Town Crier

The Ohio Department of Education Advanced Placement committee honored The Canfield Board of Education Dec. 18 for their Advanced Placement courses.

ODE Advanced Placement Director, Yolande Berger, presented the district with its fourth annual AP District Honor Roll award, which recognizes schools that increase the amount of AP courses available to students as well as increasing students' test scores. Advanced placement courses can carrying college credits and can save college costs for graduating students who are moving on to college.

"This is an inspirational benchmark for your district," said Tricia Renner, executive director of K to 12 Services.

The district was also honored for more than doubling the number of AP courses offered to students since 2007. The recognition included nine students who achieved high scored.

"In 2007, Canfield offered only two AP courses," said high school principal John Tullio. "Now we have 11 courses that begin during the sophomore year. The school district was very supportive in adding these additional classes and that has enabled us to achieve this high honor."

According to the Midwestern Regional Office, the AP District Honor Roll recognizes efforts to open advanced placement classes to a broader pool of students while maintaining or improving the percentage of students earning scores of three or higher. Out of 477 school districts in the country, Canfield High School was among only a few schools chosen.

Of the nine students receiving a score of three or higher on three or more AP exams were Maria Keener, Olivia Roy, Alexander Tareshawty, Karen Vankovich and Miles Wronkovich. Four students also achieved AP Scholar with honors, receiving an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams and scores of three or higher on four or more exams. Those students are Emily Gianetti, Lydia Scheel, Alexa Schmidt and Elizabeth Urig.

The board also celebrated the service and dedication of two veteran members, Adrianne Strum and Brian Kesner.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web