Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Trustees honor state champions

April 3, 2013
By J.T. Whitehouse , Town Crier

It was a packed house at Canfield Township Hall on Tuesday, March 26 as several Canfield High School state champions were issued proclamations honoring their accomplishments.

Following the opening of the regular meeting, trustees took a break to recognize members of the bowling and speech teams. The first set of proclamations went to the CHS bowling team of Anthony Bettile, Pete Bryne, D.J. Cospy, team captain Mike Dercoli, Tyler Frklech, Paul Harris, Andrew Jarvis, Austin Leonard, Andrew Letscher and Ben Shoman.

"This is the first-ever state bowling championship for Canfield," said Trustee Anthony Bettile.

Article Photos

Photo by J.T. Whitehouse, Town Crier
Canfield High School senior Andrik Massaro proudly holds his Canfield Township proclamation, presented by trustees Stephen Maszczak, Anthony Bettile, and Marie Cartwright at the March 26 township meeting to honor him for earning the state speech title in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

The team won the title on March 2 at the Wayne Webb Columbus Bowl. The team is coached by Carl Hurd.

The second set of proclamations went to the Canfield High School speech and debate team that sent 37 members to state and came back home with two state champions in Andrik Massaro in Lincoln-Douglas debate and Nathan Pecchia in drama.

Each member present at the meeting was issued a proclamation. Included in the list were second in state in humor, Tim Nesnidol; third in state in international extemp, Richie Abel; seventh in state in humor, Dominique Favre; seventh in state in U.S. Extemporaneous, Arjun Subramanyam; and other placers including Stephen Gant, Maleck Saleh, Rosie Jo Neddy, Mary Elizabeth Monda, Gary Zamary, Sara Lytle, Katharine Morrison, Mia Battaglia, Paige Brucoli, Lydia Scheel, Emily Damelio, Maria Kenner, Mike Sorice, Brandon Brooks, Amanda Benson, Samantha Armstrong, Daniel Yozwiak, and Billy Quirk. Also included were Katelyn Baltes, Viveinne Favre, Alec Kan, Libby Urig, Angela Pupino, Bailey Sandin, Alyssa Kerensky, Julie Gemmel, Ryann Atway, Kareem Soliman, Kevin Min, Jaedon Tseng, and Sam Ranttila.

Following a 15-minute break to enjoy cookies and refreshments with the team members, trustees resumed the meeting.

Speaking in public comments was Patty Gorcheff from North Lima. She spoke on the seismic testing that the Front Runner Seismic company is hoping to do this summer in Canfield Township's northwest quadrant.

"My first encounter with the seismic trucks was with an 80-year-old woman who was terrified when her house was shaken by the tests," she told trustees.

She said the tests actually cause mini earthquakes and can frighten people. She also mentioned that the companies performing the tests have employees who she claimed are illegally in the country.

"My main concern is for our children," she said.

She said she has been traveling from township to township informing officials of what she has found out and to make them aware of things to watch for. The Canfield Township trustees had heard from Front Runner Seismic at a previous meeting, but has not yet granted permission to test on township roads.

In other business:

- Chairman Anthony Bettille asked everyone to make sure decorations are removed from gravesites in Dean Hill Cemetery by April 8 so township crews can begin lawn maintenance.

- Trustees approved the final purchase of road salt to meet the minimum required purchases for 2013.

- Approval was given for a maximum of $2,100 for maintenance to the township's vac truck.

Trustees agreed to support the Mahoning County Solid Waste District plan for the coming year.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web