Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Canfield speech takes state title

March 7, 2013
By Kathleen Palumbo , Town Crier correspondent

Finding their voices among 900 student competitors representing more than 80 schools from across the state, Canfield High School speech and debate team won its first-ever state tournament at the 86th Annual Ohio High School Speech League State Tournament, held March 1 and 2 in Boardman.

According to information provided by CHS speech and debate head coach Jeremy Hamilton, with Youngstown State University acting as primary sponsor, and co-hosted by Canfield High School and Boardman High School, more than 80 schools were represented with students competing in 13 different events.

The awards ceremony was held at Canfield High School on Saturday, March 2, recognizing the state finalists - the top competitors in each event at the state tournament as well as the top teams competing.

Article Photos

Photo by Kathleen Palumbo, Town Crier correspondent
With many of them having already participated in their event and remaining to offer support to their teammates, members of the CHS speech and debate team pictured are, in front: Samantha Armstrong, Libby Urig, Mike Sorice, Mia Battaglia, and assistant coach Jillian Smith, Matt Albani, Lennon Sackela, Eric Kenner, and Cooper Johnson.

Led by Hamilton, with assistants Sami Nesnidol, Susan Schiraldi, Jacob Schriner-Briggs, Jillian Smith, and Janet Vagas, Canfield beat runner-up Wooster by a margin of 63.5 to 51. In addition, Canfield had two individuals win state championships in their respective events: Nathan Pecchia in Dramatic Interpretation and Andrik Massaro in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

The following Canfield High School speech and debate team members competed at the state tournament, earning recognition as noted:

Tim Nesnidol, Humor, senior, 2nd in Ohio

Richie Abel , International Extemp, junior, 3rd in Ohio

Dominique Favre Humor, junior, 7th in Ohio

Arjun Subramanyam United States Extemp, junior, 7th in Ohio

Stephen Gant Public Forum Debate, sophomore, Top 8 in Ohio

Maleck Saleh Public Forum Debate, sophomore, Top 8 in Ohio

Rosie Jo Neddy, Duo, senior, Top 12 in Ohio

Mary Elizabeth Monda, Duo, junior, Top 12 in Ohio

Gary Zamary, Impromptu, junior, Top 12 in Ohio

Sara Lytle, Lincoln-Douglas Debate, junior, Top 16 in Ohio

Katharine Morrison, Oratorical Interpretation, senior, Top 24 in Ohio

Mia Battaglia, Oratorical Interpretation, sophomore, Top 24 in Ohio

Paige Brucoli, humor, junior, Top 24 in Ohio

Lydia Scheel, drama, senior, Top 24 in Ohio

Emily Damelio, drama, junior Top 24 in Ohio

Maria Kenner, United States Extemp, senior Top 24 in Ohio

Mike Sorice, United States Extemp, senior Top 24 in Ohio

Brandon Brooks, Prose & Poetry Reading, senior Top 24 in Ohio

Amanda Benson, Prose & Poetry Reading, senior Top 24 in Ohio

Samantha Armstrong, Prose & Poetry Reading, sophomore Top 24 in Ohio

Daniel Yozwiak, Impromptu, junior, Top 24 in Ohio

Billy Quirk, Student Congress, junior, Top 48 in Ohio

Katelyn Baltes, Original Oratory, junior

Vivienne Favre, Drama, junior

Alec Kan, International Extemp, freshman

Libby Urig, Prose & Poetry, Reading senior

Angela Pupino, Impromptu Speaking, junior

Bailey Sandin, Lincoln-Douglas Debate, senior

Alyssa Kerensky, Lincoln-Douglas Debate, sophomore

Julie Gemmel, Public Forum Debate, junior

Rayann Atway, Public Forum Debate, junior

Kareem Soliman, Public Forum Debate, junior

Kevin Min, Public Forum Debate, junior

Jaedon Tseng, Student Congress, sophomore

Sam Ranttila, Student Congress, sophomore



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web