Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Speech team starts season strong

November 21, 2012
Special to the Town Crier

The Canfield speech and debate team headed to Niles for the T. Craig Bond Memorial Tournament on Nov. 10, capturing first place. The team is off to a hot start, winning first place for the first three weeks of the season.

Individual winners in Niles include Megan Factor, second place, and Mia Battaglia, sixth place, for Oratorical Interpretation; Katelyn Bates, fifth place for Original Oratory; Tim Nesnidol, first place for Humor; Emily Damelio, third place, and Lydia Scheel, fourth place, in Drama; Isaac Bowald, second, Arjun Subramanyam in third, and Mike Sorice, fourth, in United States Extemporaneous; Cameron Maras, first, and Richie Abel, third, International Extemporaneous; Brandon Brooks, second place, Samantha Armstrong, fifth place, Libby Urig and Amanda Benson, both sixth place, in Prose and Poetry Reading; Gary Zamary, second in Impromptu; Sara Lytle, second place, Bailey Sandin, fourth place, Andrik Massaro, sixth place in Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Julie Gemmel and Rayann Atway, for first place, Stephen Gant and Maleck Saleh, second place, and Billy Quirk and Will Brown, fifth place; and Shayne Georgeoff, fifth place in Student Congress.

Canfield also took first place at the Edison Tournament in Milan, on Nov. 3, beating Laurel School, Middletown, Edison, Maumee and Vermilion.

Individual winners include Mia Battaglia, first place, Megan Factor, second place, and Mary Elizabeth Monda, third place, in Oratorical Interpretation; Katelyn Baltes, second, and Hayley Ward, third, in Original Oratory; Dominique Favre, first, Tim Nesnidol, second, and Paige Brucoli, third, in Humor; Lydia Scheel, first, Vivienne Favre, third, Emily Damelio, fifth, and Nathan Pecchia, sixth, in Drama; Mike Sorice, second place, and Maria Kenner, fifth place, in United State Extemporaneous; Richie Abel, first place in International Extemporaneous; Brandon Brooks, fifth place, in Prose and Poetry Reading; Daniel Yozwiak and Angela Pupino, both first place, in Impromptu; Bailey Sandin, first, Andrik Massaro, second, and Sara Lytle, third, in Lincoln-Douglas Debate; and Kevin Min and Kareem Soliman, fourth place in Public Forum Debate.

About half the team traveled to the Columbiana Tournament on Nov. 3 and took third place overall, being nudged by first place Howland and second place Austintown Fitch.

Individual winners were: Madeleine Gebacz, fifth place in Oratorical Interpretation; Chris Halley, second, and Lennon Sackela, fourth, in Humor; Amanda Benson, third, and Libby Urig, sixth, in Prose and Poetry Reading; Matt Myers and Kailey Love, fifth place in Duo; Gary Zamary, third place in Impromptu; Alyssa Kerensky, sixth, Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Sam Ranttila and Omar Ramahi, third, Public Forum Debate; and Jonathan Palermo, fifth in Student Congress.

The team is coached by Jeremy Hamilton.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web