Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Spartan runners win first Fed League championship

October 24, 2012
Special to the Town Crier

The Boardman boys cross country team won the program's first-ever Federal League Championship this past Saturday at Perry. The Spartans were led by junior Mark Hadley, who placed first overall in 15:43 and was selected Athlete of the Year by the coaches of the league.

Right behind Hadley was classmate Alan Burns who earned 1st Team All Federal League honors for his second place finish out of 243 varsity and junior varsity runners in a time of 16:22. He was followed by freshman Nathan Hadley in fourth place overall in a career best time of 16:26, Hadley also was selected 1st Team All Federal League.

Senior Sam Sheronovich ran a career best time of 16:52 finishing 12th overall and was named 2nd Team All Federal League, he also earned this weeks BW3 Runner of the Week award. Junior Justin Maroni earned a 2nd Team All Federal League selection with his 16th place finish in a time of 16:57. Sophomore Juan Santiago was chosen Honorable Mention All Federal League for his 25th place finish in a time of 17:21.

Article Photos

"This is without question the biggest accomplishment in the history of our program," said Spartans head coach John Phillips. "Our team believed from day one that we were going win it this year. All of our guys - especially our seniors - deserve this."

Setting new personal bests on Saturday were seniors Jacob Noll at 19:33, Matt Scott at 19:57, Paul Stevens at 20:06, Ryan Key at 17:55, Matt Carubia at 19:41, Rick Henneman at 18:30, Fletcher Dunham at 18:47, and Matt Peyko at 19:25. Juniors earning new career bests were Mo Akbar at 19:57, Jacob Kelleck at 17:49 and Kevin McNally at 21:10. Sophomores setting new personal records were Josh Botak at 19:06, Andrew Cessna at 21:36, Brandon Rigelsky at 19:28, Matt Stark at 21:40, and Kostas Kasamias at 18:30. Every Boardman freshman set a new career best at Perry, they are Nick Cessna at 21:38, Jared Whitford at 20:36, Nathan Hadley at 16:26, Ethan Schwendeman at 18:42, Sean Allan at 19:51, Adam Deeley at 17:57, and Brett Brunko at 20:46.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web