Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Winners prove MathCounts

March 2, 2012
Special to the Town Crier

The following team and individual winners of the 2012 MATHCOUNTS Competition held at Youngstown State University on Thursday, Feb. 9, were honored at an awards banquet on Thursday, Feb. 23, at Ala Cart Catering in Canfield. The guest speaker was Patrick Ginnetti, P.E., candidate for Mahoning County engineer.

MATHCOUNTS is a nationwide math competition for sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade students sponsored by the National Society of Professional Engineers. It is designed to address the problem of declining math skills among U.S. students. Sponsors of the program target those students who are at the crucial stage in developing and sustaining interest and ability in mathematics. The local competition for schools in Mahoning, Trumbull, and Columbiana counties is sponsored by the Mahoning Valley Society of Professional Engineers and YSU's William Rayen School of Engineering & Engineering Technology housed in the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

The top three teams advance to the state contest in Columbus, on March 10. In addition to the top three teams, the top six individuals not on one of the top three teams also advance to the state contest.

Winners include: first place, Howland Middle School; second place, Poland Middle School, with team members Charlie Dwyer, Brendan Gage, Mariah Mrofchak and Nicole Ruse under the direction of Janice Hohloch; third place, Canfield Middle School with team members Max Lee, Alec Kan, Bobby Long and Salsi Salama under the direction of Shelly Dwyer; fourth place, Reed Middle School in Niles; fifth place, W.S. Guy Middle School in Youngstown; and sixth place, St. Joseph Immaculate Heart of Mary School with team members Nicholas Beike, Prajit Khooblall, Kathryn McCarthy and Kaelyn Puhalla with coach Patricia Vlock.

The top six individuals not on one of the three top teams who advance to state competition are Jonathan Feigert of Reed Middle School; Evan Leek of Holy Family School; Kali DeBruin of the Montessori School of the Mahoning Valley; Anthony Gresko of Austintown Middle School; Andrew Brockway of Holy Family School; and Khooblall of St. Joseph/Immaculate Heart of Mary School.

Named as the top six MathCounts individual winners were: Jonathan Feigert of Reed Middle School; Bobby Long of Canfield Middle School, Evan Leek of Holy Family School, Mike Eltmanof Howland Middle School, DeBruin of the Montessori School of the Mahoning Valley and Charlie Dwyer of Poland Middle School.

Countdown Round winners of $50 U.S. Savings Bonds from Arby's Restaurant at YSU include Long of Canfield Middle School; Mike Eltman of Howland Middle School; Aaron Coates of St. Rose School; and Max Lee of Canfield Middle School.

The Mathbowl champions for the day were Canfield Middle School's Lee, Kan, Long and Salama.

Finally, the winners of the state competition held in Columbus, on March 10 will advance to the national MATHCOUNTS finals held in Orlando, Fla., at Walt Disney World, May 10 through 13.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web