Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Wrestlers take 3rd at EOWL

February 15, 2012
Special to the Town Crier

The Canfield High School wrestling team competed in the Eastern Ohio Wrestling League championships on Friday, Feb 3 and Saturday, Feb 4, taking third place out of 18 teams, behind traditional rivals Howland and West Branch. Howland won the event last year as well, with the Cards taking second place last year.

Anthony Spencer, second place, made it to the championship match at 113 pounds, where he fell to Nick Mancini of Boardman. Mancini defeated Spencer in last year's final as well, at 103 lbs.

Other top placers for the Cards were as follows: 106 pounds, Stephen Daprile, third place; 126 pounds, Jake Dunbar, third place; 145 pounds, Bryan Batton, sixth place; 152 pounds, John Poullas, third place; 160 pounds, Steven Hamilton, sixth place; 170 pounds, Stan Socha, fifth place; 195 pounds, Sam Conner, fourth place; 220 pounds, Curtis Burns, third place.

Article Photos

Anthony Spencer makes it to the final match in the 113-pound class of the EOWL league championship on Feb. 4, but fell to Boardman wrestler Nick Mancini.

The final team dual meet record is 15-5, which placed them as runners up in the EOWL and AAC dual meet season race.

"We are pleased with the way we finished, considering our team had no seniors," coach Dean Conley said. "It is tough to compete with schools like Howland and West Branch with such a young squad. We have a great foundation here, great support from the parents and the booster club, and the kids worked hard all year."

On Feb. 1, the Cards completed their final dual meet, defeating crosstown rival Poland, 45-13.

Winning for the Cardinals were: Daprile, Anthony Spencer, Nick Borucki, Dunbar, Shawn Williams, Batton, Hamilton, Socha, Conner, and Curtis Burns.

The JV Red team was in action Jan. 28 at the tournament at Austintown Fitch. Top placers were Ross Duffett, first place; Daprile, first place; Ben Siegle, second place; Kyle Hido, second place; Matt Dunbar, second place; Matt Burns, fourth place; Tibor Baki, fourth; Adam Nye, second; and Ed Curran, first place.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web