Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Youth leaders class is announced

October 13, 2011
Special to the Town Crier
Forty-one high school students from Mahoning and Trumbull counties were welcomed last week as part of the 2012 Youth Leadership Mahoning Valley junior class.

The class kick-off breakfast took place at Antone’s Banquet Centre in Boardman. YLMV board chairman Dr. Roan Craig welcomed the class and addressed the program goals and purpose. YLMV Class of 2011 coordinators Patrick McCarthy from South Range and Shamara Golden from Liberty addressed their peers. Leadership Mahoning Valley Executive Director Karen Stacey announced the new class.

After the breakfast, class members participated in a one-day retreat. Program facilitator Mary Wargo led the program, "Leadership: Appreciating Diversity and Leading for a Lifetime."

YLMV’s mission is to identify, develop, and motivate potential leaders among our youth to address the challenges and celebrate the opportunities of the Mahoning Valley. The program identifies high school juniors and sophomores in Mahoning and Trumbull Counties who have demonstrated leadership potential, and introduces them to the issues faced by the major systems in the Mahoning Valley and the decision-makers in those systems.

Town Crier area youth selected Leadership Class for 2011 included: Nicole Deley from Boardman High School, Maureen Driscoll of Cardinal Mooney, Ross Fabrizi of Cardinal Mooney, John Crowe of Ursuline, Emily Gianetti of Canfield, Alysa DeGeorge of Mahoning County Career and Technical Center, Christina Eusanio of Ursuline, Hannah Mitchell of Cardinal Mooney, Gianna Parella of Cardinal Mooney, Christine Kerrigan of Ursuline, Elizabeth Urig of Canfield, Jairus Pettis of Youngstown Christian, and Katherine Sieman of Cardinal Mooney.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web