Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Trustees announce two new officers coming soon

August 26, 2011
By Kathleen Palumbo
With the recent passage of the 3.85-mill, five-year additional police levy, Boardman Township community members spoke, and its Board of Trustees are acting, as it was announced that two officers will start in October, and a third in January of 2012.

The trustees met Monday, Aug. 22, where Boardman Township Police Department Capt. Donald Hawkins said, “We’re prepared to move forward.”

Trustee Chairman Tom Costello said that with levy passage the community was promised 10 new officers to be brought on between 2012 and 2013. With the board’s approval to tap into funds from a one-time federal Community Oriented Policing Service grant in the amount of $413,148 which provides the starting salary for two police officers for three years with the stipulation that the township pay for a fourth year, “We’re going to start now,” he said, adding “And with that, we start the process of rebuilding.”

In other business, Trustees also approved a new three-year contract with the Ohio Patrolman’s Benevolent Association, which includes three-year wage freezes and increases the step scale by six steps, according to Township Administrator Jason Loree.

In addition, the contract includes a 60/40 split for the township’s eight emergency dispatchers' healthcare insurance, lowers starting wages for new hires, and includes language to bring on part-time employees, according to Loree, who said “It’s a very good contract.”

Prior to the conclusion of the meeting, “You represent Boardman very well,” said Trustee Larry Moliterno, as the trustees honored Boardman’s 10- and 11-year-old Little League state champions.

The team includes players Michael Melewski, Sean Buck, Noah Falleti, Dominic Stilliana, Dominic Pecchia, Bobby Toth, Mike Cunningham, Bryan Kordupel, Evan Knaus, Luciano Cardillo, Dante Beato, and Jarod Wilson. The team was managed by Ted Melewski, with coaches Tony Stilliana, Joe Cunningham and Jeff Wilson.

Boardman Township trustees will meet next on Monday, Sept. 12 at 136 Boardman-Poland Road.

Article Photos

Photo special to the Town Crier
The Boardman Community Baseball 2011 Little League state championship team was honored Monday with a proclamation from the township trustees at their regular meeting. The team, in front, includes Sean Buck, Dominic Stilliana, Dominic Pecchia, Michael Melewski, Noah Falleti, Luciano Cardillo, Jarod Wilson, Dante Beato, Michael Cunningham and Evan Knaus; and behind are coaches Jeff Wilson, Joe Cunningham, Tony Stilliana and manager Ted Melewski. Missing from the photo are team members Bryan Kordupel and Bobby Toth. Signs designating their state win will be posted at major arteries into the township and BCB has designated its road into the complex as State Champ Drive to honor the team.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web