Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Waste-Tech wins bowling title

June 9, 2011
Special to the Town Crier
Formed in 1962, two years after Ed Theis and the late Dick Wilson established Boardman Lanes, the Boardman Businessmen's League recently concluded its 49th season with Waste-Tech, Ltd. crowned as the 2010-2011 champions. The Waste-Tech team, comprised of Bill Artz, Sean Flanagan, Dave Kiraly, Dick Marlowe, Glenn Milton Jr. and Jim Mitchell, narrowly edged Midwest Money Center by a single pin in the recently concluded league roll offs. Al Dohar, John Dohar, Mike Dohar, Ricky Martin, George Rohan Jr. and George Rohan III make up the Midwest Money Center team.

Kiraly led the Waste-Tech five with a 644 set which included a 266 game. Midwest Money Center's J. Dohar paced his team with a 267 game and a 649 set. However, to secure the 3-1 victory, Marlowe, Waste-Tech's anchor, rolled two clutch strikes followed by a nine pin count in the tenth frame of the third game to enable his teammates to win totals by only one pin. The outcome of the first two games also were not determined until the final frame with Waste-Tech outdueling the Midwest team by 15 and 18 pins, respectively. Midwest came up short with a 32-pin win in the final game.

Placing third after losing the semifinal match to Midwest Money Center, that won two quarters, was Cat Racing. By virtue Of having the most wins, but without winning a quarterly title, the attorney Knickerbocker team finished fourth. The Cat Racing team members include: Jeff Cohen, Harry Jones, Tom Panagopoulos, Tom Seefried, Dave Stanko and Boardman Lanes co-proprietor Rich Wilson. Mark Beil, Dave Bernat, Ron Knickerbocker, Dale Kushma, Dave Perarcik, and Mike Piccoli make up the attorney Knickerbocker team. Waste Tech's Artz won the high average award with a 209 narrowly outpacing Rich Evans 208.9, Marlowe 208.7 and M. Dohar 208.2. Others with 195-plus averages included: J. Dohar 207, Shane Yesovich 205, William Smith 203, Floyd Barron 202, Wilson 201, Jim Wellington 200.5, Panagopoulos 200.3, Anthony Mastrangelo 199, Angelo Bianco 197, Russ Turner 196 and Milton 195.

The season was highlighted by M. Dohar's 300 game and 773 set. Other high actual games were recorded by: Yesovich 290, Marlowe 289, Stanko 289, Norm Dibkey 288, Barron 279, J. Dohar 279, Wilson 279 and Wellington 279. Other high actual sets were rolled by: Barron 746, Stanko 740, J. Dohar 738, Wilson 728, Marlowe 727 and Panagopoulos 727.

Stanko bested Dan Roberts 313 to 307 for the high game handicap award. Stanko also narrowly edged Roberts 812 to 811 for the high set with handicap.

The league's most improved award went to Yesovich who increased his average by 13 pins from 192 to 205.

The following teams also received recognition: Prout Boiler (Bleggi, Ron Chick, Bill DeCicco, Mastrangelo, Ron Theis and Turner) high team game actual 1167 and high team game handicap 1273; T. W. Pet Centers (Jason Bird, John Durkin, Dick Evans, R. Evans, Bob Seabrook, and Rick Spokane) high team set actual 3190; and Schaffer Concrete (Ciolli, Richard Knox, Kuszaj, Roberts and Todd Terlizzi 3483.

The year-end singles/doubles handicap tournament produced several high scores. Wilson tossed a 752 series edging out Dave Kuszaj's 749 to win the singles. Other high singles tournament scores were rolled by: Jack Ulansky 713, Milton 711, Smith 709, Artz 704, Phil Frame 703, Tom Billock 701, DeCicco 694, Kushma 691 and Kiraly 690. Only 24 pins separated the top eight doubles teams with the partnership of Wilson/Panagopoulos leading the way with a 1405. Other top doubles finishers included: Barron/Ulansky 1396, Artzl/Kiraly 1394, Milton/Mitchell 1392, Mark Bleggi/Frame 1389, Smith/Bill Wittman 1383, Dave Billock/T. Billock 1382 and Mike Ciolli/Kuszaj 1381.

Milton was awarded the league's 25th Pete Chick, Sr. Memorial Award for outstanding sportsmanship and fellowship at the annual banquet and golf outing held on May 14, 2011 at Valley Golf Club in Columbiana.

The Boardman Businessmen's League, one of the oldest in the Greater Youngstown Bowling Association and the oldest at Boardman Lanes, will celebrate its golden anniversary next season.


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web