Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

St. Patrick’s Parade set for Sunday

March 10, 2011
Special to the Town Crier
The 33rd Annual Mahoning Valley St. Patrick’s Day Parade will be held beginning at 1 p.m. Sunday, heading north from McClurg Road on Market Street to Southwoods Ave.

The theme of this year’s parade is “Everybody is Irish on St. Patrick’s Day.” Trophies for the best of parade and Irish theme will be awarded as well as first and second place trophies for best float, best band, best pipe band, best drum line, best marching unit, best novelty unit and best color guard.

The grand marshal for the 2011 parade is St. Patrick’s parish of Youngstown’s Pastor Edward Noga.

The Ockerman award recipient is Edward Maloney Sr.

The Bill Cleary award has been given to Boardman Township trustees Brad Calhoun, Larry Moliterno and Tom Costello.

The honor of being named Lord Mayor of Kilkenny is Henry Nemenz of Poland.

The Patrick Chrystal Youth Award will be presented to Christine Kerrigan.

Leading the parade and carrying the Shamrock Balloon will be 100 parishioners of St. Patrick’s Parish. There will be one parishioner for every year that the parish has existed. Each will wear a T-shirt representing each year (1911-2011).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web